Sami Munck wins Finnish nitro touring nats Rd3 and Teemu Saarinen secures Nationals series win



PKSRCA club hosted the third round of Finnish nitro on-road in Helsinki last weekend. Driver were greeted with over cast weather in Saturday morning and everybody was hoping for dry day, but just few minutes before controlled practice skies opened and there was heavy rain for some hours. So no training for drivers and first two rounds of qualifying was just waiting game to see if the weather would improve. Thanks to organizing club whose volunteers did excellent job on drying the track before Q3 round and drivers started to get some results on the board on damp conditions. On Q4 on almost dry track Teemu Saarinen was able to secure TQ run before local driver Jari Valkola.

Semi Finals were run on fast improving track and this caused problems to all drivers with engine tuning and chassis set-up issues. For the Final weather kept improving even more and The Sun came out. Before the Start of the final there was drama for TQ driver Saarinen whose radio stopped working and Teemu had to call 10 min delay to repair his radio gear. After the start of the final, first part of the race it was semifinal winners Alexandr Naumov and Tony Raikas who fought for the lead, but after slow start fast charging drivers Sami Munck and Teemu Saarinen who started from back of the group caught up with the leaders. After Teemu and Sami got past Alexandr and Tony they started to pull away from the rest of the group and were able to drive sub 19 second lap times. Sami and Teemu were swapping lead several times because of different fuel strategies. Before the last pits stops of the 45 min Final Teemu hit with problems and his car went off the track and after this incident Sami Munck was able to open up cap between Teemu and himself and take the victory with 10 sec margin. Teemu Saarinen secured Nationals series win with the second place finish in Rd3.

Final result

1.	Sami Munck	Mugen / Novarossi
2.	Teemu Saarinen	Mugen / Novarossi
3.	Tony Raikas	Mugen/ Novarossi
4.	Alexandr Naumov	Xray / Novarossi
5.	Niko Putkonen	Serpent / Xceed
6.	Janne Vesterlund	Mugen / Novarossi
7.	Panu Vehniäinen	Mugen / Novarossi
8.	Joonas Hyvärinen	Mugen / Novarossi
9.	Jethro Lehtojärvi	Xray / Reds
10.	Jari Valkola	Xray / Novarossi